Curves for Change: Installment 2

Posted: September 26, 2011 in Contemporary Politics, Education, Personal

As noted in my previous entry, I’m working on a 30x project on the theme of curves.  30 days, 30 pictures.  I’ve also tried to find inspirational quotes that fit with the pics.  I’ve included my latest pictures and quotes here and try to provide some explanation when possible. I have to admit, my writing energy is at a bit of a low I have a ton of deadlines that are all due October 1st.  Craziness!!  So forgive the lack of written creativity in this blog post.

 
Kokopelli play for me,
So my heart may sing,
Magic flute of mystery,
Fruitful dreams you bring.
Song of Aztlan,
Fertile Fire,
Canyons of my mind,
Sacred union,
Heart to heart,
Speaks of the Divine.

I’ve always been fascinated with the image of Kokopelli.  The ancient connections connected to the Hopi is fascinating.  The poem reminded of the importance of our hearts, dreams, and minds.

I accidentally shot into the sun, but it had the unintended positive consequence of providing me with a rainbow.  When I was looking for quotes, I wasn’t sure if I wanted one on fountains or rainbows, so I chose one of each.

  • “Some people drink from the fountain of knowledge, others just gargle.” Robert Anthony
  • “And as he spoke of understanding, I looked up and saw the rainbow leap with flames of many colors over me.” Black Elk
I was trying to learn how to use the different exposure settings on my camera, and this candle ended up being a bit trickier to shoot than I thought.  It was a fun experiment though.  We all use candles for all sorts of personal and ceremonial part of our lives.  In darkness it provides the light we need to see the way.  This quote reminded me of the importance of self reflection.
“We are each gifted in a unique and important way. It is our privilege and our adventure to discover our own special light.” ~Evelyn Dunbar
I was trying to find a unique way of photographing something that I see everyday at work, the Immaculata.  I decided since the theme was curves, snapping a shot from the adjacent archways allowed for a new perspective on the same old thing.  With new perspective comes new experiences and knowledge. Alfred Lloyd Tennyson wrote,
 “All experience is an arch wherethrough gleams that untravelled world whose margin fades for ever and ever when I move.”
The picture’s fuzzier than I wanted, but I thought the flamingo was cool.  In truth, there weren’t any inspirational quotes about flamingos so I went with whatever I could find.
“Is there anything more beautiful than a beautiful, beautiful flamingo, flying across in front of a beautiful sunset? And he’s carrying a beautiful rose in his beak, and he’s also carrying a beautiful painting in his feet. And also, you’re drunk.” Jack Handy.
Again, I was playing with exposure with this picture.  I also realized I forgot all the lessons I learned on spot metering.  Anyways, I was listening to a song called “Good Friend and a Glass of Wine” by Leann Rimes and wanted to put together an image of that idea.
I dedicated this picture to my friend Anna Guevarra who just got tenured at University of Illinois, Chicago.  I read this quote by Emily Bronte and thought it captured what an inspirational person she is.
“I have dreamed in my life, dreams that have stayed with me ever after, and changed my ideas; they have gone through and through me, like wine through water, and altered the color of my mind.”  Emily Bronte
Today, Wangari Maathai, Africa’s first female Nobel Prize winner, environmental activist, professor, and leader of the Green Belt Movement passed away after a prolonged battle with cancer.  She focused on the interconnectedness of life and worked tirelessly to alleviate poverty, argued for environmental sustainability, and community lead initiatives.  We need to remind ourselves that resources need to be replenished –there is no such thing as an endless supply.  So the picture I posted today is the curve of the coastline in La Jolla, and reminds me not to take things for granted.
Here are a few quotes from the amazing Wangari Maathai.  Rest in Peace, Professor Maathai.
 “You must not deal only with the symptoms. You have to get to the root causes by promoting environmental rehabilitation and empowering people to do things for themselves. What is done for the people without involving them cannot be sustained.”
“In a few decades, the relationship between the environment, resources and conflict may seem almost as obvious as the connection we see today between human rights, democracy and peace.”

Leave a Reply

