The Ocean and the Present Moment

Posted: April 3, 2011 in Personal

“Life can be found only in the present moment. The past is gone, the future is not yet here, and if we do not go back to ourselves in the present moment, we cannot be in touch with life.” –Thich Nhat Hahn

My friend once told me that water is therapeutic and cleansing. You dip your feet in and let your worries, stresses, and all other things that ail you wash away with the tide. How easy it is to forget that simplicity can often bring such clarity. The purification of the soul can be found by simply taking a minute to breathe, reflect, and listen to your heart.

I sat and listened to the ocean today –closed my eyes and let the sounds of the ocean wash over me. I heard waves hitting the shore, the sound of seagulls in the distance, and the wind blowing steadily across the water. I felt the breeze (ok, really cold wind by San Diego standards) hitting my face, and could taste the salt water on my lips. I felt the stress fall from my shoulders as I simply sat and listened.

My visit to the beach was not alone; I was with my friend and his 3 children (one of which is my god-daughter. Being around Katya, Emilio, and Nadya (all are under the age of 7_ reminds me of the importance of simplicity. I watched 7-year-old Katya, and five-year old Emilio run in and out of the (freezing cold) waves for over an hour. They challenged each other not to be caught, and laughing when one of them ended up soaked. 2-year-old Nadya dragged her daddy out into the ocean with her and waited for her dad to swing her out of the way of the oncoming waves. Yesterday, living the present moment was the epitome of happiness and a reminder to breathe and absorb life and its many little miracles.

Comments
  1. And this is exactly why I love the ocean and can sit at the beach all day. I’m meant to live by the ocean, it calls my name all the time. Except I’m afraid of tsunamis now..lol

Leave a Reply

