Curves in life

Posted: September 20, 2011 in Personal

I’m starting a new project. 30 days, 30 pictures –the theme is curves.  I didn’t pick the theme, it’s part of this meet-up photography project designed to get me to learn how to use my camera a bit better.  For those following this on facebook, you’ll see that I’m attempting to find inspirational quotes and thoughts to match up with my project.  We’ll see how long it lasts.

I think these first two pictures, and the quotes I chose speak to my mindset these days.  Contemplating change and my place in the world.

My first picture was taken at the tide pools at La Jolla Cove.

After quite a bit of reading, I came across this quote by John Steinbeck from The Log of the Sea of Cortez. I liked it because it reminds us all that we are connected.   Steinbeck wrote,

“This is a simple thing to say, but the profound feeling of it made a Jesus, a St. Augustine, a St. Francis, a Roger Bacon, a Charles Darwin, and an Einstein. Each of them in his own tempo and with his own voice discovered and reaffirmed with astonishment the knowledge that all things are one thing and that one thing is all things—plankton, a shimmering phosphorescence on the sea and the spinning planets and an expanding universe, all bound together by the elastic string of time. It is advisable to look from the tide pool to the stars and then back to the tide pool again.”

My second picture was taken on the Kumeyaay trail at USD at around midnight.  I needed some air before finishing up some projects and found myself looking at the curves in the road ahead.

Sometimes we know where we’re going to end up, and sometimes we don’t.  It reminded me of my favorite Robert Frost poem, “The Road Not Taken.”  He writes,

 “Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference. “

Sometimes we just need to keep faith and know whatever journey is ahead of us will take us where we need to go.

Leave a Reply

